The LSS Committees – each of which has its own important function – help to support the LSS Core and Council in providing outstanding extra-curricular opportunities for Queen’s Law students. The Committees also perform important administrative functions, including facilitating elections, compiling the yearbook and approving Clubs applications.


LSS Committees & Members 2018-2019

LSS Student Awards Committee

The LSS Student Awards Committee is responsible for selecting the recipients of the LSS Student Awards, which are given out to various Queen’s Law students each year.

2018/19 Committee:

Sustainability Committee

The Sustainability Committee utilizes the sustainability assessment toolkit developed by the 2014-2015 ad hoc Sustainability Committee to work with the LSS and the Faculty of Law to improve the sustainability of their operations and policies. The Committee formulates recommendations for tangible improvements to the environmental, social and economic sustainability of the Queen’s Law community.

2018/19 Committee: Molly Bachmeier, Molly McCarthy, Rae Daddon

Clubs Governance Committee

Clubs Governance Committee Working in conjunction with the VP Finance, the Clubs Governance Committee has a mandate to review the internal controls and finances of LSS clubs and other events that operate using LSS funds. The membership of this committee is restricted to those individuals who do not have signing authority with any LSS club.

2018/19 Committee: Shane Liquornik, Taran Hoogsteen

Course Evaluation Committee

The Course Evaluation Committee is responsible for conducting course evaluations for each law course. The purpose of course evaluations is to assess teaching effectiveness and the relevance of course content.

Chair: Jeremy Ambraska, VP Administrative lssvpadmin@queensu.ca

2018/19 Committee: VACANT

Elections Committee

The Elections Committee oversees elections at Queen’s Law to ensure that nominations, campaigning, and elections are done in accordance with the Constitution.

Chair: Simon Gollish simon.gollish@queensu.ca

2018/19 Committee: VACANT

Elections Review Committee

2018/19 Committee: VACANT

Alumni Relations Committee

The Alumni Relations Committee assists the Faculty of Law’s Development Officer in strengthening ties between law students and Queen’s Law alumni.

2018/19 Committee: Alina Smirnova, Brianna Poli, Ian Farndon, Jennifer Mak, Jimmy Burg, Laura Culleton, Molly McCarthy, Nataly Dil, Nigel Masenda, Rae Daddon, Rono Khan, Shane Liquornik

Law Games Committee

The Law Games Committee organizes and fundraises all aspects of Queen’s Law’s participation in Law Games.


2018/19  Committee: Sean Nouch, Taran Hoogsteen

Med-Law Games Organizing Committee

The Med-Law Games Organizing Committee (Faculty of Law) works with the Med-Law Games Organizing Committee (School of Medicine) to organize the annual MLG sports tournament and fundraiser.

Faculty Jacket Committee

The Faculty Jacket Committee oversees the design and sale of faculty jackets every year.

2018/19 Committee:

LSS Reconciliation Committee

The Reconciliation Committee is tasked with assisting the faculty in responding to the Truth and Reconciliation Commission’s calls to action.

2018/19 Committee: Jimmy Burg, Dayna Murczek, Don Couturier, Taylor Burnie, Taylor Scott, Jeremy Mutton, Sophia Gabbani, Lauren Winkler

Constitutional Review Committee

The Constitutional Review Committee reviews the constitution and recommends changes.

Chair: Dennis Do, VP Academic lssvpacademic@queensu.ca

2018/19 Committee: Krysten Zator

Denis Marshall Contribution Awards Committee

The Denis Marshall Contribution Awards Committee is responsible for selecting the recipients of the Denis Marshall Contribution Award, which is given out to third years students.

2018/19 Committee: Simon Gollish

Equity & Diversity Committee

The Equity & Diversity Committee works with the faculty and student Equity & Diversity Commissioners to educate law students on equity and diversity issues.

Co-commissioners: Nathan Holman nathan.holman@queensu.ca and Penny Zhang 0pxyz@queensu.ca

2018/19 Committee: Dayna Murczek, See-Hung Lee, Andrew Liang, Taylor Knowlton, Rond Khan, Noor Sohail, Nicole Stasi, Violet Levin, Sarah MacDonald, Ian Farndon, Madeline Rigg, Clare Murphy

Lawlapalooza Committee

The Lawlapalooza Committee organizes and runs Lawlapalooza in the Winter term.


2018/19 Committee: Alessia Grossi, Jordan Davis, Kate McGrath, Laura Culleton, Molly McCarthy

Stanley M. Corbett Awards for Teaching Excellence

The Stanley M. Corbett Awards for Teaching Excellence was established in January 2016 as a collaborative effort between the Faculty of Law administration of the Law Students’ Society. It replaces the former LSS Teaching Awards committee. The Stanley M. Corbett Awards for Teaching Excellence committee confers awards for teaching excellence in honour of the former Associate Dean Stanley M. Corbett, who in his 50-year association with Queen’s University, distinguished himself as a scholar, author, teacher, mentor, leader, colleague, and friend.

Chair: Dennis Do, VP Academic lssvpacademic@queensu.ca

2018/19 Committee: Jimmy Burg